Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Tanks & Equipment

Notices

Tropheus Tanks & Equipment Discussion of tanks, filters, heaters, lighting, UV and other equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2014
ZeeZee's Avatar
ZeeZee
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 150
Thanks: 44
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Images: 9
Mrgreen What is the best heater for a 125 gallon tank?

What is the Most reliable heater for a large tank? Have decided on a filter -Fluval FX6 - but still deciding on heater, gravel/sand, and lights. Any recommondations would be appreciated. BTW I got a GREAT price on the filter that swayed my decision.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2014
Mastiffman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 41
Posts: 4,502
Thanks: 960
Thanked 889 Times in 733 Posts
Images: 17
Default

Nothing wrong with that filter if they are setup right!

I have had decent success with Aquaclear, Jager and Marineland heaters.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2014
Trophaolic's Avatar
Trophaolic
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Keeping: Duboisi, Eret kigoma, Comp Chaitika, Bulu Point Leleupi
Posts: 422
Thanks: 30
Thanked 77 Times in 65 Posts
Default

You'll get different opinions on this one. How big is your tank? Glass or plexi? On both my 150g and 90g, I use 2 aquatop 300-watt in each tank. Each is about $20. This is so that one acts as back up for the other in case one of them stops working. I am not certain, but I would think both will consume about the same electricity as one, since one will have to stay on longer to heat up the whole tank. Don't forget a thermometer to monitor water temperature.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2014
ZeeZee's Avatar
ZeeZee
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 150
Thanks: 44
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Images: 9
Default

Ok that is 2 for Aquaclear. The tank is a glass Marineland. HMMM mastiffman, what do I have to do to set it up properly? I want a sand substrate but I am worried about the filter sucking up the sand. I see you have Bemba, that is what I want!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2014
Mastiffman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 41
Posts: 4,502
Thanks: 960
Thanked 889 Times in 733 Posts
Images: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeeZee View Post
Ok that is 2 for Aquaclear. The tank is a glass Marineland. HMMM mastiffman, what do I have to do to set it up properly? I want a sand substrate but I am worried about the filter sucking up the sand.
Just make sure that you have the proper media.

Top= bio foam
Middle= Carbon and or Bio-Rings ( I use aquaclear Bio-Bags for the AC70 power filter)
Bottom- Bio-Rings of sum sort with a polishing pad that has "U" shapes cut outs every 1/2" to 1" all of the way around it so that it polishes the water but still allows maximum flow to bypass. it will never slow down the flow rate and you'll know that the pad needs to be simply switched when the water starts looking a tad hazy again (like it looks without using a polishing pad of some sort).


Or do what I do now and find a nice used Red Sea Ocean Clear Canister or Inland Seas Nu-Clear Canister filter with a 25micron Cartridge on the output with a Bag of Purigen in the middle of it.

I have 5 FX5's. 1 on each of my 180's, 1 on a 135, 120 and 110. I have a Red Sea Canister with Filter Pad set and Quiet one 4000hh pulling water through it with Carbon and Purigen in it. Keeps that 110 Crystal Clear.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2014
ZeeZee's Avatar
ZeeZee
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 150
Thanks: 44
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Images: 9
Default

Thank you for the advise! The FX6 comes with media but I will look into what exactly it is. Do you have pics of your Bemba?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2014
Mastiffman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 41
Posts: 4,502
Thanks: 960
Thanked 889 Times in 733 Posts
Images: 17
Default

Here is they're thread. There's a video in the OP.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mastiffman For This Useful Post:
ZeeZee (02-16-2014)
  #8  
Old 02-16-2014
Vman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver
Keeping: Kasanga
Posts: 227
Thanks: 40
Thanked 48 Times in 39 Posts
Images: 1
Default

The FX is a great filter except you have to remember that it does suck a lot of water.Don't use any media that is too fine if you're not going to clean it often.Filter floss and polishing pads clog quickly in it.Also make sure your intake is not too low,as it will suck up your sand. I use the aragonite sugar sized sand and had the filter clog a lot. Now I moved the intake to less than 1/2 way and it's good now. Your Trophs will constantly spit the sand all over and the filter will pick it up.I also use an XP 3 with the FX 5 on my 135 gallon. Good to have 2 filters.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2014
Mastiffman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 41
Posts: 4,502
Thanks: 960
Thanked 889 Times in 733 Posts
Images: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vman View Post
The FX is a great filter except you have to remember that it does suck a lot of water.Don't use any media that is too fine if you're not going to clean it often.Filter floss and polishing pads clog quickly in it.Also make sure your intake is not too low,as it will suck up your sand. I use the aragonite sugar sized sand and had the filter clog a lot. Now I moved the intake to less than 1/2 way and it's good now. Your Trophs will constantly spit the sand all over and the filter will pick it up.I also use an XP 3 with the FX 5 on my 135 gallon. Good to have 2 filters.

That's right. But if the polishing pads have "U" Shaped cutouts long the edge, all the way around it will Alleviate the need to replace them as often.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2014
swk
Guest
 
::Profile::
Posts: n/a
Default

Really the best heater is any of them plugged into a reliable controller. Look at jehmco or kens fish for heater controllers and plug them into that. They're far more reliable than the heaters own thermostat. For me I run 2 smaller heaters so if one sticks on, I have time to catch it before I come home to fish stew.

Otherwise, I've had good luck with the jäger heaters and also the hydor theo line submersible heaters. They're quite a bit smaller than the jagers, so if I'm short on space in the sump I will use the hydor instead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
125, gallon, heater, tank

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
125 gallon tank Kbdeprima Tropheus Photo Gallery Discussion 15 08-19-2013 01:28 PM
My 135 gallon tank moganman Tropheus Photo Gallery Discussion 8 06-08-2013 04:27 PM
Tank, Canopy, lights, stand, filter, heater, background, rock for sale! Chris Derrick Buy, Sell & Trade 3 08-09-2010 09:12 PM
75 Gallon - Filters/Powerhead/Heater Placement JPK_NJ Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 3 10-25-2009 06:40 PM
Help with tank heater cricket355 Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 7 10-12-2009 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.