Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Disease, Health and Nutrition

Notices

Tropheus Disease, Health and Nutrition Discussion of Tropheus diseases, general health, nutrition and water conditions.

Old 05-01-2013
kitana

::Profile::
Keeping: WC Tropheus moorii Kasanga
Default A step toward understanding Bloat

Beware, this post will be LONG LONG LONG!

Last month, on March 23rd, I received a group of 28 WC Tropheus Kasanga. They were imported a few months ago and had already received praziquantel and metronidazole treatments.

Being my first Tropheus, I was terribly afraid of bloat and it happened nonetheless. I lost 7 fish, mostly females, and I am still battling it, but as a veterinarian I chose to first do some diagnostics on my fish instead of treating them blindly. I figured that I could post the diagnostic techniques, process and results on here if it could help someone. The following descriptions could be a little graphic for some people so you are warned.

What I did can be done by anybody, not just veterinarians, and I am under the belief that it should be done. As a society we are facing an astronomic rise in antimicrobial resistance in bacterias that affect both us and our animals, and overuse/misuse of antibiotics is at the core of this problem. What you need to diagnose correctly a problem is a regular veterinarian with access to a microscope, vials of formaline and a good fish pathologist. Nothing more. It doesnít cost a lot of money compared to loosing a whole colony to either Bloat or the toxicity of blind treatments.