Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Tanks & Equipment

Notices

Tropheus Tanks & Equipment Discussion of tanks, filters, heaters, lighting, UV and other equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2014
Kbdeprima
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New setup ready?

Hey, just set up a 55 gallon tank for my group of ilangis. The aquarium has been setup about a week. The filter is a eheim 2217 that I had running on one of my community tanks for about 2 weeks. Right now the aquarium has 2 cichlids in it that are doing well. Do you think the aquarium is ready for 20 ilangis?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2014
Mastiffman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 40
Posts: 4,502
Thanks: 960
Thanked 889 Times in 733 Posts
Images: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbdeprima View Post
Hey, just set up a 55 gallon tank for my group of ilangis. The aquarium has been setup about a week. The filter is a eheim 2217 that I had running on one of my community tanks for about 2 weeks. Right now the aquarium has 2 cichlids in it that are doing well. Do you think the aquarium is ready for 20 ilangis?
What size Ilangi?


I would say that as long as you feed very lightly for the first couple/ few weeks, you should be fine. I would also take the filter media from another filter on your community tank and rinse it clean in your 55 Gallon. it will become dirty looking for a day but then clear up and you'll have an established tank for the most part. Maybe throw a handful of substrate from that community tank into the 55 as well and mix it in with the new substrate and that will help the BB colony build quickly.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mastiffman For This Useful Post:
h.anderson54 (05-22-2014)
  #3  
Old 05-21-2014
Kbdeprima
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The first day the tank was setup, I squeezed a sponge from the filter in my community tank. Yesterday I put a bio wheel in the tank to float around on the surface.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2014
reierje
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can tell if it's ready by doing the ammonia test... Of course NOT with fish in there...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2014
Kbdeprima
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Water parameters are
Ammonia- 0ppm
Nitrite- 0ppm
Nitrate- about 5ppm
Ph comes out at 8.4 on tap
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2014
Kbdeprima
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I added the fish to the tank. They're swimming up and down in one corner. Should I be alarmed?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2014
coolcichlids80's Avatar
coolcichlids80
Status: Offline
Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Florida
Keeping: Chaitika Blue Rainbow, Bulu Point Cherry Spot
Posts: 99
Thanks: 32
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbdeprima View Post
I added the fish to the tank. They're swimming up and down in one corner. Should I be alarmed?
I wouldn't worry, my Chaitikas did the same thing around a thermometer i had in the top corner, it was too funny, now they are all over the tank. Sometimes they still do it but not as much.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2014
Kbdeprima
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Haha, thanks for the info. I took precaution and removed out all except one.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2014
Mastiffman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 40
Posts: 4,502
Thanks: 960
Thanked 889 Times in 733 Posts
Images: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbdeprima View Post
Haha, thanks for the info. I took precaution and removed out all except one.

Those parameters and precautions that you took were perfect. YOu're good to go IMO.

You put more stress on them by taking them back out. Or did I misunderstand that.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2014
Troyale
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Keeping: WC Nkonde, F1 Red Ndole, WC/F1 Bulu Point
Posts: 340
Thanks: 42
Thanked 81 Times in 66 Posts
Images: 23
Default

That is normal for a new colony of fish to swim up and down in the corners at least in my experience. My wc cyphos & f1 trophs did it and just got a wc group of nkonde 3 weeks ago and they do it everytime i walk in the room. I think they are adjusting to their new home. My established colonies still do it sometimes. Think they are excited to see me b/c they think its food time!.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
ready, setup

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: F1 ilangi ready to go tangjim Buy, Sell & Trade 4 05-17-2014 03:19 PM
ready to breed again davesolo29 Tropheus Disease, Health and Nutrition 3 11-09-2009 04:31 PM
The tank are ready!! roshi Tropheus Aquascaping 9 05-18-2009 12:17 PM
Am I ready? cmcpart0422 Tropheus Talk 21 04-27-2009 02:02 AM
Before THE Ready, Set, Go jagwired524 Tropheus Talk 4 03-08-2009 07:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.