Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Breeding

Notices

Tropheus Breeding Discussion of Tropheus conditioning, breeding, venting/sexing, fry care and rearing.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2010
streetfighter
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can you breed these fish in pairs or do they have to be in groups only
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2010
electriceelcat's Avatar
electriceelcat
Status: Offline
Site Advisor
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oroville CA
Keeping: Wild caught chipmunks & wild Nkonde
Age: 52
Posts: 780
Thanks: 67
Thanked 111 Times in 98 Posts
Send a message via AIM to electriceelcat
Default

You need more than a pair. I have had problems with less than 12.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2010
supadave
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 579
Thanks: 11
Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts
Default

It is not advised to attempt to the breed this fish in pairs . You will more than likely end up with one fish . It is suggested to keep this fish in groups of around 15 or more depending upon tank size . I would also like to suggest that you read as much as you can about Troph keeping .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2010
greatlakeofafrica
Status: Offline
Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(streetfighter @ Nov 24 2010, 09:53 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div>
Quote:
can you breed these fish in pairs or do they have to be in groups only[/b]
i agree 100%
the lowest amount that ive bred successfully was 6(1m 5fm)
and i must admit i got lucky!!!i think a decent number to breed would be 12
and try to only have a lone male and at the most 2 males in a colony so small!
just try and get as many in your colony as the size of your tank permits...also filtration must be
very good with frequent water changes!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2010
streetfighter
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the inputs guys the reason i ask is because im on a tight budget and my tank is a 40 gallon i been reading some of the post and most of you guys haves tanks that are 100+ gallons with 20 more in a tank
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
breeding, group, size

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.