Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Tanks & Equipment

Notices

Tropheus Tanks & Equipment Discussion of tanks, filters, heaters, lighting, UV and other equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-08-2014
Fish Junkie's Avatar
Fish Junkie
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Milford CT
Keeping: Kalambo,Blue Rainbow
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

You just have to run both tanks to one sump and split the return. The hard part will be figuring out what pump to use. I will have to be quite large so you get good flow in each tank but not to big to run the sump dry and overflow the tanks. It will take some tweaking but it can be done.
__________________
I'm not addicted to Fish! Addicts go to meetings. Oh!!! wait I do go to meetins
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2014
rhickman's Avatar
rhickman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Keeping: Currently DRY :'(
Age: 23
Posts: 1,273
Thanks: 114
Thanked 219 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish Junkie View Post
You just have to run both tanks to one sump and split the return. The hard part will be figuring out what pump to use. I will have to be quite large so you get good flow in each tank but not to big to run the sump dry and overflow the tanks. It will take some tweaking but it can be done.
Or... Run two pumps, one for each tank, they each have their own drains, and they can each have their own returns.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2014
Fish Junkie's Avatar
Fish Junkie
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Milford CT
Keeping: Kalambo,Blue Rainbow
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhickman View Post
Or... Run two pumps, one for each tank, they each have their own drains, and they can each have their own returns.
That would take up a lot of room in the sum. Leaving very little room for filtration.
__________________
I'm not addicted to Fish! Addicts go to meetings. Oh!!! wait I do go to meetins
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-08-2014
rhickman's Avatar
rhickman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Keeping: Currently DRY :'(
Age: 23
Posts: 1,273
Thanks: 114
Thanked 219 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Personally I dont think so, if you want to properly filter two tanks at once it had better be a decent size sump.2 pumps, each one around 1000 gph, will fit and leave ample room for filtration.

Im not saying the Tee'ing of the line, and the super size me pump wouldn't work, but it wouldn't make sense. 2 1000 gph pumps run 120w, 1 Mag 18 pumping 1800 gph is using 150w, so its even more efficient that way.

Plus the tee will cause more head loss, where as one straight line off each 1000 gph pump will be more efficient for water flow. No matter what way you look at it, it doesn't really make sense, but IF the sump can't accommodate two pumps, it probably isn't big enough for 2 tanks worth of filtration in the first place.... IMHO.

I'm not saying the above wouldn't work, but from a numbers stand point, it wouldn't work as well.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-10-2014
gat3keeper
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

for 2 75 gallons of tank.

What should be a good size of sump? will a 35 gallons will do ? or even 20G perhaps ?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-10-2014
rhickman's Avatar
rhickman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Keeping: Currently DRY :'(
Age: 23
Posts: 1,273
Thanks: 114
Thanked 219 Times in 184 Posts
Default

I love these K1 sump ideas that a few members on here have employed. If you do a 30 gallon thats 36" long, three chamber sump. First chamber filter socks, second chamber K1 moving bed filtration, third chamber pump or pumps.

If you want to use just one pump I would say 2000 gph, by the time it splits and loses power to head height, you'll probably be looking at 600-750 gph in each tank. That coupled with a powerhead of some sort in each tank and your fish will be happy.

If you go the way I suggested, with two pumps, you can run 2 1200-1500 gph pumps with less wattage and more flow than a 2000 gph pump. You'd also have more flow and easier cleaning.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
filtration, system, tanks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UG System Jeffish Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 7 11-10-2013 06:55 PM
Drip System kyfront33 Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 0 09-15-2012 04:06 PM
Complete wet/dry system nnwwkk Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 21 01-02-2012 10:28 AM
Home made filtration system. JimA DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Projects 8 12-30-2011 11:38 AM
UGJ System azynman Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 1 03-13-2010 06:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.