Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Tanks & Equipment

Notices

Tropheus Tanks & Equipment Discussion of tanks, filters, heaters, lighting, UV and other equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2014
gat3keeper
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default 2 Tanks = 1 Filtration system. Is it possible?

I have 2 75G tanks.


Recently, I'm very fascinated with DIY sumps / trickle filters. My question is, it it possible to use 1 huge sumps or trickle filters for both tanks?

I've been searching over the internet for days now but I haven't seen anyone using 1 system for multiple tanks.

Any design (water flow) that could work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2014
Fish Junkie's Avatar
Fish Junkie
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Milford CT
Keeping: Kalambo,Blue Rainbow
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

There is a few ways to do it. You would have to stack them and in short top tank would run in to the bottom, the bottom to the sump and the sump to the top.
__________________
I'm not addicted to Fish! Addicts go to meetings. Oh!!! wait I do go to meetins
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2014
noddy
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 899
Thanks: 0
Thanked 79 Times in 76 Posts
Default

Sure, I think most of the large fish stores that I have been in use a central system. I personally wouldn't do it simply because of the spread of disease that could happen.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2014
mb302rs
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alabama
Keeping: Ikola, duboisi and Bemba
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Just as Noddy pointed out. Most fish stores use a sump for a central filter. Your tanks can be in any configuration as long as they are higher than the sump. The sump normally runs on gravity drains from your aquariums with a pump for the return water after it is filtered. I have run central filters for years with very few problems.I believe the larger volume of water tends to be more stable therefore less stress on the fish . Less stress usually means fish less likely to contract disease.
__________________
MikeB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2014
gat3keeper
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi mike, good point.

Actually thats what im thinking, larger volume of water is better and perhaps will conserve more electricity.


First tank water > sump > 2nd tank > 1st tank

is this an ok setup?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2014
mb302rs
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alabama
Keeping: Ikola, duboisi and Bemba
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Default

If you do it that way , you are running the waste water from one tank into another. I have always drained each tank directly to the sump buy plumbing a drain line and tapping all tanks into it . Then having the drain line dump into the sump through filter socks . After that the water falls through the wet /dry bio media. The return line from the pump has valves to regulate the flow back into each tank.
__________________
MikeB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2014
supadave
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 579
Thanks: 11
Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noddy View Post
Sure, I think most of the large fish stores that I have been in use a central system. I personally wouldn't do it simply because of the spread of disease that could happen.

+1....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2014
Fish Junkie's Avatar
Fish Junkie
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Milford CT
Keeping: Kalambo,Blue Rainbow
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

this would work

Tank1 Tank2
......sump
__________________
I'm not addicted to Fish! Addicts go to meetings. Oh!!! wait I do go to meetins
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2014
mb302rs
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alabama
Keeping: Ikola, duboisi and Bemba
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I didn't mean to imply that it would not work. You are right it will. I just see no reason to send all the waste from tank 1 through tank 2 if you don't have to.
__________________
MikeB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2014
gat3keeper
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Got it...

I need to plan this carefully.

Tropheus is very addicting fish indeed to waste.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
filtration, system, tanks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UG System Jeffish Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 7 11-10-2013 06:55 PM
Drip System kyfront33 Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 0 09-15-2012 04:06 PM
Complete wet/dry system nnwwkk Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 21 01-02-2012 10:28 AM
Home made filtration system. JimA DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Projects 8 12-30-2011 11:38 AM
UGJ System azynman Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 1 03-13-2010 06:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.