Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Tanks & Equipment

Notices

Tropheus Tanks & Equipment Discussion of tanks, filters, heaters, lighting, UV and other equipment.

Old 12-12-2013
wharfrat

::Profile::
Keeping: Ikola
Default supplemental lighting for 50/50 LED

Hello I am new to Troph.com. I just received my first 20 juvenile fry of Tropheus sp. Ikola yesterday. I currently have a Finnex Ray 2 10k/460nm 50/50 (light that I was using on my Peacock/Hap tank). I was curious what kind of LED supplemental strip I could use to make the yellow bars pop more. Would I want a warm white low kelvin LED strip, an all red Led, or a 12k/Red stunner.

Another question. Is an airpump . I have 2 XPL Filstars (Rena XP3's) with the jet nozzles angled up, 45 degrees from side, and agitating the surface. I also have a Koralia 1050 angled slightly down and across from the left side which seems to be "okay" for the 90 gallon.

I'll post my husbandry questions in another forum. Thanks in advance.
Old 12-12-2013
Mastiffman

The Juvies yellow are onnly going to have so much yellow in them until they fully mature in color.

So changng the lighting won't increase it.

But once they get older a nice combo of 10,000k, 6700k and 50/50 will make them look nice!
The Following User Says Thank You to Mastiffman For This Useful Post:
wharfrat (12-17-2013)
Old 12-12-2013
wharfrat

Thanks yeah I was not going to go impulsively buy a light yet. Hehe...but when I do I wanted to know which type to get. BTW I love your mastiff. My neighbor had a Neapolitan Mastiff when I was a kid...I loved that dog
Old 12-12-2013
swk

Technically, warmer, lower kelvin ratings will accent the yellow. I would stick to 10k or below to make the yellow pop. Save the 50/50s for a different group. Congrats and welcome to trophs.com
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post:
wharfrat (12-17-2013)
Old 12-12-2013
JimA