Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Tanks & Equipment

Notices

Tropheus Tanks & Equipment Discussion of tanks, filters, heaters, lighting, UV and other equipment.

Old 08-14-2012
Spiros

::Profile::
Default starting first ever tropheus tank

hi there everyone this is my first time on this forum as i was looking up stuff about trophs and i just found it.

i live in toronto canada just so you guys know.

OK so what i want to know is if i am doing good so far on what i would like to do.

i want to setup a us 75 gallon tank with about 15 dubosi ( preferably maswa)

Filtration: 2 Internal aquaclear 500's they run 1,000us gallons together per hour so the whole tank would go through about 13 times PER hour.

Heater: 2 75g ehiem heaters one set a little lower in case of problem when i am away.

substrate: its going to be black sand ( $$$) or kids play sand which is brown

decor: i am having trouble with this as i have read make 2 piles on each end and just dont have any rocks at all.
i would like to make the 2 piles they would consist of 5-7 limestone rocks of average size for each pile. please give me lots of advice for this one .
Toronto water is on average a 7.8 hardness other then the lime stone i would not add anything for the water

Water changes: once a week 30-40 % depending how much work the filters end up doing and i would clean one filter every 2 months and alternate.

Buying the fish: i am going to buy them from a local breeder who lives only 30 minutes away so we should have the same water. he has had trophs for over 10yrs
we havent talk about if i am going to take some adults or a bunch of fry maybe 25 and let nature figure who will live in my tank.

Food: i will feed them just spirulina flake with some cucumber once a month or so. the back of the container says 40% max protein should i find a different brand???

i have had african cichlids fo 3 years and want to try with tropheus