Home Forum Articles Sponsors Affiliates CP Map Chat FAQ TOS
Go Back   Trophs.com > Tropheus Forums > Tropheus Tanks & Equipment

Notices

Tropheus Tanks & Equipment Discussion of tanks, filters, heaters, lighting, UV and other equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-28-2015
rstephenson
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 45
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I found it funny that yesterday I questioned why I would need the DC9000 ...... this morning I woke up and thought ......... "Dang !! I should have just gotten the DC12000".

LOL, go figure
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-28-2015
Mastiffman
Status: Offline
Senior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 40
Posts: 4,502
Thanks: 960
Thanked 889 Times in 733 Posts
Images: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rstephenson View Post
I found it funny that yesterday I questioned why I would need the DC9000 ...... this morning I woke up and thought ......... "Dang !! I should have just gotten the DC12000".

LOL, go figure
LOL- Nah, you'll be good with the 9000 I think. It's what I would have gotten. 1395gph/210g and you are looking at a over 6.64 times turnover of that 210g per hour.

I think you'll be good to go. People for the longest time have taught that you need close to 10x filtration an hour for a tropheus tank and that's juts not true.

Trophues can be kept in tanks powered solely by air with an ample weekly water change, substrate siphoning and filter cleaning and proper diet...
People didn't know the circumstance as well as we know them today with Tropheus. Lots of trial and error and trial and success since those years ago that has been shared on this site. But we do want to make sure that we use ample and the most we can afford to care for them without wasting money doing it.

To powerful of a pump or to much water flow over beneficial bacteria and the nitrogen cycle will not be as efficient. Also, on a relevant note. Beneficial Bacteria colonies will only grow to the size of the bio-load. So having a ton filtration media in a few different filters is pointless. Unless someone is overfeeding and creating a larger bio-load than the fish produce. But even at that point, larger water changes will be needed. And once again... That's just a waste.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-02-2015
rstephenson
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 45
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just a little update. The tank is up and running and I'm LOVING it !! The built in overflows are wonderful (after some setbacks and newbie problems) and the pump is great !!

The main lingering problem I have now is that IF I finally get everything running nice and quiet .......... as soon as I do a water change,,,, It starts all over again. One of my overflows always gives me the toilet gurgling sounds. It takes quite a while to get it quiet again IF I can. Not sure if it's a water flow problem or air flow problem

That's about my only dilemma so far. It's still MUCH quieter than my HOB system I had before.

One of these days I'll post some pics if I can get some decent ones and figure out how
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-03-2015
sixball
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Keeping: Ikola, Dubs, Ilangi
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Do you have standpipes in your overflow(s)? I have had great luck with durso standpipes once I drill out the top to the appropriate size for my water flow.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-05-2015
rstephenson
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 45
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Yes. I have the factory standpipe from Aqueon. (I believe it is a Durso standpipe design)

sorry. Still trying to figure out how to post a photo


Quote:
Originally Posted by sixball View Post
Do you have standpipes in your overflow(s)? I have had great luck with durso standpipes once I drill out the top to the appropriate size for my water flow.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-25-2016
rstephenson
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 45
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Well, today my Jebao pump stopped working. I believe it is the power supply.
Dead in less than a year. Was great up until this point.

Tyring to contact the company but I'm not holding my breath.

Not sure where to go from here.... a wee bit frustrated to say the least
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-30-2017
rstephenson
Status: Offline
Junior Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 45
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

another comment on a dead thread.

I replaced the power supply and things have gone great ........ for another year.
Now the pump is actually dead.

I really like these pumps when they are working.

Not sure what to do. May order another and hope that I just got a lemon
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-31-2017
stacyhaney
Status: Offline
Member
 
::Profile::
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Keeping: Peacocks, WC Mikula Fronts
Posts: 62
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiffman View Post
Sorry. I should been more clear as to why I think that these are better.

You have to take head height into account and use the rated GPH at what specific head height you'll be using it at (I'm guessing around 5ft-5.5ft [1.5-1.7meters] mark).... Then Compare the two pumps at the same price range (danner/PM vs. Jebao) for rated GPH at the height you'll be using the pump at. Then look at the rated wattage usage and reliability and overall manufacturing quality and ease of use, maintenance and repair is needed. Then you can look at any bells and whistles, if any apply.

The Jebao DC series pumps are ran off of 24 volt DC that is transformed from 120vAC from an outlet. So you will be using less wattage overall right there from the get go. 70 watt max rating.

The DC9000 (i.e. 9000 is liters/h) pumps 2,377GPH at Zero feet of head. Looking at Jebaos charts for head height performance, at 1.5m (5ft) to 1.70 (5.5ft) the DC9000 will pump 5,700lit/hr (1,518gph) at 1.5m (5ft) to 5,250 lit/hr (1,395gph) @1.70 (5.5ft).

A Danner Mag-drive 18 is 1800gph at Zero feet of head height. At 5ft it goes down to 1,100gph and about 1,080gph at 5.5ft of head. it would be running near 145 watts (running at that height). The Mag Drive 18 costs a few dollars more than the Jebao DC9000.

Here's the Cool part. The Jebao DC line comes with a 6 speed controller that allows you to lower the Gph and Wattage by 16.67% with each reduction in speed setting. So if you are at 5ft of head and pumping 1,518gph @ 70 watts and you click the speed down from speed 6 (full output speed) down to speed 5. You'd go down to about 1,253 gph and only pulling about 60watts.

So for the Comparison: Paying few dollars less for the Jebao, you'd get and 270gph (speed 5) -540gph (Full speed 6) and you'd be using 75-85 watts less per hour.

Icing on the cake, the Jebao pumps have a soft start feature that is a slow start and ramps up to full speed over the course of 60 seconds or so and also has a 10 minute feed that does that but way slower. Not fully sure what that would be used for but could hold some potential value to someone.

The quality of the Jabeo pumps is very nice. No Twist and lock like the Sicce Silent pump line and it also comes with a few twist on barbs. The ports for the Jebao are both 1.25" but it comes with screw on barbs. It has built in rubber feet as well but I hang mine from the underside of my cabinet with Airline. With the Extra power you get from the Jabeo with half the power usage, you can literally get rid of any dead spots in water flow in the tank.

I use the controller before bed to cut the flow of the tank in half overnight, using only about 25watts on my 120g for 8-9hr while I sleep and flip it back to full output during the day..

So I hope this clears up what I meant. I purchased one and will one day covert all of my breeder tanks over to them.

Final Thought:

I think that you need the Jebao DC9000 for that 210g. Or at least the DC6000.
I'm also looking into setting up a sump for my Red Rainbow tank. It's a 120 gallon and I like the idea of the Jebao pump. Can this work on a sump that's only about 18" long? If not what size should the sump be? I don't want to pump out more water than the sump can draw in.
Thanks!
Stacy
__________________
Commit your way to The Lord; trust in Him and He will do it! Psalm 37 vs 5.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
pump, sump, thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pump for Sump Jeffish Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 38 02-10-2014 03:48 PM
Sump Pump rhickman Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 3 08-07-2013 09:24 PM
sump pump geost Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 10 05-05-2009 04:02 AM
Pump in your sump? Mr. Johnson Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 32 11-15-2008 02:31 AM
sump pump??? steve0o09 Tropheus Tanks & Equipment 3 06-22-2007 03:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.