PDA

View Full Version : When does it start????

discman
09-05-2009, 11:53 PM
I have my new group of eleven 3-4 inch Longolas housed with my twelve 3-4 inch Trews. It has only been a short while but there is absolutely no aggression at all. They are housed in a 165 with lots of rockwork and plastic plants to help break up the sightlines. Thanks to Longstocking for the tips in the setup to use. I'm guessing that they are just too small or too new for serious aggression yet but I am new to petros and would like some experienced keepers of petros to give me some idea of when the aggression might begin. Has anyone else had them this small and still had problems with fighting?? Please share!
Thanks

geost
09-06-2009, 01:16 AM
Disc congrats on the additions, petros are very addicting and the trews and longola together is a great combination. :thumbsup: Are they wild or F1?
To answer your question, aggression can start when they are sexually mature, for some petros is around 3-4" or around 4-6" (not all fish will fit into this generalization). Again it largely depends on their numbers, the right M/F ratio and F1s is more accustomed to tank life. Two variants in "small" tank is minimum imo unless you get like 20 to 30 fish of a single type. So if you don't see any "aggression", don't worry, you are doing the right things! Enjoy them, feed them well and who knows they may breed like SWK's tricolors.

Post some pics when you get a chance.

billansor
09-06-2009, 02:39 AM
It is interesting to note on my Trew's that the aggression gets really really high when a female starts to drop her tube........... I think what happens that there must be some smell, or pheromes that lets the others know that someone is going to get lucky tonight... and so the aggression starts..

Thats when it will start as George said,, maturity...

The other thing I noticed is that females have a pecking order in order to BE the one that breeds......Part of nature